Tags

, , , , , , ,

Double Double, Toil and Trouble

I found a wonderful recipe in a recipe book of Halloween themed decorations and foods. While I was prepping it for the Samhain celebration tonight (along with fabulous pumpkin chocolate chip cookies), I saw it bubbling and brewing and it made me remember “HEY, IM MAKING A WITCHY BREW!” Granted, this isn’t for any sort of spell, but hot damn is it delicious.

Apricot-Apple Harvest Brew

1 gal. apple cider (we subbed this out with natural fresh pressed apple juice, since the travel to get cider was more than Boyfriend felt like driving to retrieve)
11 1/2 oz can apricot nectar
1c. sugar
2c orange juice
3/4c lemon juice
4 4-inch cinnamon sticks
2 t. allspice
1 t. ground cloves
1/2 t. nutmeg

Bring all ingredients to a boil in a large stockpot over medium heat. Reduce heat; simmer for about 10 minutes. Serves about 20.

This is fantastic! It needs to be served hot, although I will be trying to reheat it for the sabbat, as it has those particulate spices that will not fully dissolve. It is so wonderful and warms your soul. Yummy yum!

Now, here is a really yummy recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. I found this online, and made a few small modifications.

1c. pumpkin (I used fresh pumpkin goo, and blended it into a recently fine pulp)
3/4c. sugar
1/2 c. oil
1 egg
2c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. milk
1 c. chocolate chips
1 tsp. vanilla
butter (optional, I used half a stick)

Preheat oven to 375 F. Dissolve baking soda in milk; set aside.

In a large bowl add pumpkin, sugar, oil and egg; stir. (I added butter here for a bit of richess, it was suggested in comments below where I found it) Add flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda mixture. Mix well. (I added a bit of extra flour to thicken the mixture up a bit)

Stir in chocolate chips and vanilla. Spoon by the tablespoon onto cookie sheet (I used parchment paper, these cookies stick!!!!).

Bake at 375 F for 10 to 12 minutes or until done.

So, these were pretty delicious. I can’t wait to see if the trad enjoys it, they worked better the second time around and stuck less with the parchment paper. They are light and fluffy like pumpkin tends to be, almost like a ginger bread texture. I’m so excited for this evening, I’ll post a few small basic things on it, as of course Samhain rituals always a bit more…private. Now, I’m off to finish prepping and then working on Greek! I love my life!

